YEN by Anna Jordan | KXT

 

_MG_3146 Adjusted 3 - VERSION 2 EXTENDED Combined

Cast from left to right: Jeremi Campese, Ryan Hodson, Hayley Pearl, and Meg Clarke. Photograph by Omnes Photography

YEN

Venue: Kings Cross Theatre, 244/248 William St, Kings Cross NSW 2011

Dates: 27 September – 13 October 2018

Tickets: $20 – $35

Running Time: 2 hours + interval

Buy Tickets Now

“I’m Bobbie. As in Bobbie Dazzler, my Nan says, although I don’t know who that is. And this is my brother Hench. He’s got a face for radio.”

Hench is 16, Bobbie is 14. They’re home alone in Feltham with their dog Taliban; playing PlayStation, streaming porn, watching the world go by. Sometimes their mum Maggie visits, usually with empty pockets and empty promises.

Then Jenny shows up.

YEN poignantly explores a childhood lived without boundaries and the consequences of being forced to grow up on your own.

Directed by Lucy Clements

Produced by Loredana Cross

Production Managed & Stage Managed by Christopher Starnawski

Set and Costume Designed by Ester Karuso-Thurn

Sound Designed by Chrysoulla Markoulli

Lighting Designed by Louise Mason

With Jeremi Campese, Ryan Hodson, Meg Clarke and Hayley Pearl

WARNINGS: Sexual violent themes involving minors, coarse language, drug references, sexual references, adult themes and smoking. Recommended for audiences 15 years and older.

Performances

7:30pm Thursday 27th September 2018 (Preview)

7:30pm Friday 28th September 2018 (Preview)

7:30pm Saturday 29th September 2018 (Preview)

5:00pm Sunday 30th September 2018 (Preview)

7:30pm Tuesday 2nd October 2018 (Preview)

7:30pm Wednesday 3rd October 2018: Opening Night

7:30pm Thursday 4th October 2018

7:30pm Friday 5th October 2018

7:30pm Saturday 6th October 2018

5:00pm Sunday 7th October 2018

7:30pm Tuesday 9th October 2018

7:30pm Wednesday 10th October 2018

7:30pm Thursday 11th October 2018

7:30pm Friday 12th October 2018

1:00pm Saturday 13th October 2018: Matinee performance, followed by a panel discussion with Associate Professor Rita Shackel from the University of Sydney, cast and creatives

7:30pm Saturday 13th October 2018: Closing Night